Home › Freight › Locomotives

Freight locomotives

The 20 classes found at work on British freight in October 2026, with the figures a drawing will be made from. Where a class is drawn its row links to the drawing; the dimensions are what could be found, and the gaps are marked.

unverified Some of these figures haven’t yet been checked against an official source or a published history. What’s in doubt ↓

ClassType and builderBuiltPowerTop speedWeightSizeBogieIn freight service (as at October 2026)Drawing
Class 08 (and 08/9) shunter
status and doubts

English Electric 6KT diesel, 2 x EE 506 DC traction motors

In use as depot and yard shunters. Class 08 count by operator in 2026 is only partly known; weight 49-51 long tons (49.8-51.8 t).

  • Single secondary source for length, width, height, wheel diameter (Wikipedia).
  • Power: 350 or 400 hp (261 or 298 kW) in the infobox; 400 hp/298 kW used here.
  • Class 08/9 height is 11 ft 10 in (3,597 mm; Wikipedia).
  • Total in freight and yard service is to be confirmed; the Wikipedia operator list is from 2022 and says 'about 100 in service'.
diesel-electric shunter locomotive
British Railways works at Crewe, Darlington, Derby, Doncaster and Horwich
1952-1962298 kW (400 hp)15 mph (24 km/h)50 tlong 29 ft 3 in8.92 m
high 12 ft 9 in3.877 m
wide 8 ft 6 in2.591 m
wheels 4 ft 6 in1.372 mGB Railfreight 5
Freightliner 7
Drawing to come
4 of 6 dimensions found
Class 09 shunter
status and doubts

English Electric 6KT diesel

GBRf lists 09002 for sale. Few remain in freight use.

  • Single secondary source (Wikipedia) for dimensions; engine power flagged 'dubious' on the page.
diesel-electric shunter locomotive
British Railways at Darlington and Horwich
1959-1962 (09/0); 1992-93 rebuilds as 09/1, 09/2261 kW (350 hp)27 mph (43 km/h)49 tlong 29 ft 3 in8.92 m
high 12 ft 9 in3.874 m
wide 8 ft 6 in2.591 m
wheels 4 ft 6 in1.372 mGB Railfreight 2Drawing to come
4 of 6 dimensions found
Class 18 battery-hybrid shunter (Clayton CBD90 Hybrid+)
status and doubts

JCB DIESELMAX 430 diesel generator plus 524 kWh lead-acid batteries; DC motors

GBRf leased four from Beacon (Aug 2024); Tata Steel and Sellafield also use the type.

  • Length, height, width, bogie data not stated.
  • Single secondary source.
diesel-battery shunter locomotive
Clayton Equipment Company, Burton upon Trent
2021 onwards (first delivered Feb 2022)416 kW (558 hp)12 mph (19 km/h)90 t––GB Railfreight 4Drawing to come
0 of 6 dimensions found
Class 20
status and doubts

English Electric 8SVT Mk.II diesel; EE 526 DC motors

Few in freight/industrial use: HNRC/Swietelsky (Hope Cement Works), Balfour Beatty (Drain Train). Infobox '6 in service' is undated.

  • Wikipedia gives pivot centres 24 ft 0 in (7,320 mm) and overall wheelbase 32 ft 6 in (9,910 mm); no bogie wheelbase.
  • Single secondary source for all dimensions.
  • No current count by operator.
diesel-electric locomotive
English Electric, Vulcan Foundry and Robert Stephenson and Hawthorns
1957-1962; 1965-1968746 kW (1,000 hp)75 mph (121 km/h)73 tlong 46 ft 9 in14.256 m
high 12 ft 8 in3.851 m
wide 8 ft 9 in2.67 m
wheels 3 ft 7 in1.092 mHarry Needle Railroad Company
Balfour Beatty Rail 2
Locomotive Services Limited 4
Drawing to come
4 of 6 dimensions found
Class 37
status and doubts

English Electric 12CSVT; DC motors (37/4+ Brush alternator)

Still working: Colas infrastructure/freight, Europhoenix (hired to ROG), Loram (37418), HNRC; DRS retired its fleet in 2024; Network Rail uses rebuilt 97/3. 80 mph (129 km/h) with CP7 bogies; weight 102-107 t (37/7 ballasted to 122 t).

  • Single secondary source for dimensions. 61 ft 6 in (18,750 mm) is the infobox 'length' (not stated as over buffers).
  • Bogie data not given (overall wheelbase 50 ft 8 in (15,440 mm)).
  • Per-operator counts are 2024-26 Wikipedia/RAIL figures; the Wikipedia table counts and number lists disagree for LSL and HNRC.
  • Power given is the engine rating for the class; refurbished sub-classes differ.
diesel-electric locomotive
English Electric, Vulcan Foundry and Robert Stephenson and Hawthorns
1960-19651,305 kW (1,750 hp)90 mph (145 km/h)105 tlong 61 ft 6 in18.75 m
high 12 ft 9 in3.89 m
wide 8 ft 11 in2.71 m
wheels 3 ft 9 in1.143 mColas Rail 8
Europhoenix Rail 11
Harry Needle Railroad Company 5
Locomotive Services Limited 5
West Coast Railways 9
Loram UK 1
Drawing to come
4 of 6 dimensions found
Class 56
status and doubts

Ruston-Paxman 16RK3CT diesel; Brush TM73-62 motors

Run down at Colas during 2025 (two stood down Feb 2025); DCRail has 56103 in traffic, 56091 stored and 56301 bought from preservation in Mar 2025. 16 rebuilt as Class 69. 2026 working count unknown.

  • Wheel diameter not on the Class 56 page; the Class 69 page gives 3 ft 9 in (1,143 mm) for the rebuilt body (not recorded here).
  • Bogie data not on the Class 56 page; see Class 69 (bogie wheelbase 4,100, pivot centres 14,480).
  • 2,400 bhp (1,790 kW) at rail.
diesel-electric locomotive
Electroputere (56001-030), BREL Doncaster (56031-114), BREL Crewe (56115-135)
1976-19842,424 kW (3,250 hp)80 mph (129 km/h)125 tlong 63 ft 6 in19.35 m
high 12 ft 9 in3.89 m
wide 9 ft 2 in2.79 m
–Colas Rail 10
DCRail 2
Drawing to come
3 of 6 dimensions found
Class 59 (59/0, 59/1, 59/2)
status and doubts

EMD 16-645E3C two-stroke V16; 6 x EMD D77B motors

Heavy Haul Rail 14 (13 active, 59104 stored), GBRf 59003 (for sale). Mendip Rail page lists eight, which conflicts. 59/2 max 75 mph (121 km/h). GBRf's page gives 121 t.

  • Weight 126 t (Wikipedia) vs 121 t (GBRf page): conflict; Wikipedia value used.
  • Bogie centres field is the Wikipedia 'pivot centres' value 43 ft 6 in (13,259 mm).
  • Dimensions single-source (Wikipedia).
diesel-electric locomotive
GM Electro-Motive Division, La Grange (USA) and London, Ontario
1985-19952,500 kW (3,300 hp)60 mph (97 km/h)126 tlong 70 ft 1 in21.349 m
high 12 ft 10 in3.912 m
wide 8 ft 8 in2.629 m
centres 43 ft 6 in13.259 m
wheelbase 13 ft 7 in4.149 m
wheels 3 ft 6 in1.067 m
Heavy Haul Rail 14
GB Railfreight 1
Drawing to come
6 of 6 dimensions found
Class 60
status and doubts

Mirrlees Blackstone 8MB275T; 6 x Brush TM2161A

Slowly returning: GBRf 7 in traffic of 10, Europhoenix/DBIH 66 owned with a handful active (60062, 60063, 60074), DCRail part-active (17 listed). DB Cargo has sold its fleet. Weight 129 or 131 t; 'wheelbase' on Wikipedia is 50 ft 2 in (15.3 m; not bogie centres).

  • Bogie centres, bogie wheelbase and wheel diameter are to be confirmed.
  • Wikipedia infobox says 3,100 bhp (2,300 kW) engine; 2,415 bhp (1,801 kW) at rail.
  • Total in service is to be confirmed: GBRf 7 + Europhoenix 3 + DCRail 1+ is only a floor.
  • Dimensions single-source (Wikipedia).
diesel-electric locomotive
Brush Traction, Loughborough
1989-19932,310 kW (3,100 hp)60 mph (97 km/h)129 tlong 70 ft 0 in21.34 m
high 13 ft 0 in3.95 m
wide 8 ft 8 in2.64 m
–GB Railfreight 10
DCRail
Europhoenix Rail 66
Drawing to come
3 of 6 dimensions found
Class 66 (66/0, 66/3, 66/4, 66/5, 66/6, 66/7, 66/8, 66/9)
status and doubts

EMD 12N-710G3B-T2 two-stroke V12 (139.6 L); 6 x EMD D43TRC motors; 1,850 kW at the rail

Backbone of GB freight. 129.6 t is the UIC II/Stage IIIA weight; original spec 127 t (GBRf's page 127 t). Sub-classes: 66/0 DB Cargo 223 built; 66/3 16; 66/4 24 (intermodal, 75 mph (121 km/h)); 66/5 81; 66/6 28 (65 mph (105 km/h), regeared); 66/7 99 (GBRf); 66/8 5 (Colas 66846-850); 66/9 7 (66951-957, low-emission, reduced fuel).

  • Length: 70 ft 3 in (21,400 mm; Akiem and DB Cargo agree) vs 70 ft 2 in (21,390 mm; Wikipedia) vs 70 ft 1 in / 70 ft 3 in (21,360/21,410 mm; loco-info); 21,400 recorded.
  • Height 12 ft 10 in (3,910 mm) and width 8 ft 8 in (2,630 mm) are Wikipedia-only (single secondary).
  • Bogie wheelbase: 13 ft 7 in (4,150 mm; 2007 Wikipedia mirror) vs 13 ft 9 in (4,190 mm; loco-info 'rigid wheelbase'): conflict, left null. Bogie centres and wheel diameter are to be confirmed (overall wheelbase 56 ft 9 in or 57 ft 1 in (17.29 or 17.41 m)).
  • in_service_total null: operator counts are of different dates (DB 137 + GBRf 104 + Freightliner 46 + HHR 58 + DRS 19 + Colas 5 = 369, an indicative sum only).
  • Counts of 66 per operator are partly from Wikipedia (GBRf, DRS, Colas) and not cross-checked.
  • drawing indicative (set FRL1, October 2026): the outline, layout, heights and bogies measured on a level photograph of 66702 (rectified by its 70 ft 3 in (21,400 mm) over buffers), the details from 66073, 66591 and 66598; the bogie centres (43 ft 4 in (13,220 mm) apart) from loco-info's overall and rigid wheelbases, the 3 ft 4 in (1,020 mm) wheels by ratio on 66591
  • drawing: the right-hand side only (the No. 1 end to the right); the left-hand side's grilles differ and are not drawn
  • liveries' colours from photographs, approximate; DRS's from one weathered photograph
diesel-electric locomotive
GM Electro-Motive Diesel (EMD), London, Ontario and Muncie, Indiana
1998-2008 (and 2014-15 low-emission batches)2,462 kW (3,300 hp)75 mph (121 km/h)129.6 tlong 70 ft 3 in21.40 m
high 12 ft 10 in3.91 m
wide 8 ft 8 in2.63 m
–DB Cargo UK 137
GB Railfreight 104
Freightliner 46
Heavy Haul Rail 58
Direct Rail Services 19
Colas Rail 5
Drawn (indicative)
3 of 6 dimensions found
Class 67
status and doubts

EMD 12N-710G3B-EC; 4 x EMD D43FM motors

Wikipedia infobox 21 in service, 8 stored, 1 scrapped (June 2026). Some leased to Transport for Wales; Royal Train 67005 and 67006. Weight 88-90 t.

  • Length 64 ft 8 in (19,710 mm) confirmed by Wikipedia and DB Cargo page.
  • Height, width, bogie wheelbase 2,800, bogie pivots 11,630, wheel diameter 965: Wikipedia only.
  • 2,500 hp (1,864 kW) at rail is flagged 'citation needed'.
  • Operator counts partly out of date.
diesel-electric locomotive
Alstom Meinfesa, Valencia (EMD drive components)
1999-20002,386 kW (3,200 hp)125 mph (201 km/h)89 tlong 64 ft 8 in19.71 m
high 12 ft 11 in3.93 m
wide 8 ft 11 in2.71 m
centres 38 ft 2 in11.63 m
wheelbase 9 ft 2 in2.80 m
wheels 3 ft 2 in0.965 m
DB Cargo UK 26
Colas Rail 2
Drawn: see its page
6 of 6 dimensions found
Class 68 (Stadler UKLight)
status and doubts

Caterpillar C175-16 diesel; ABB AC/AC; 4 nose-suspended motors

34 built. DRS about 20 for freight and nuclear, 14 with Chiltern Railways (passenger). Fuel tank up to 5,600 L (Stadler) vs 5,000 L.

  • No length, height, width, bogie data found in either source: the Stadler data sheet has no dimensions.
  • Weight 'approximately 85 t' and wheel diameter 3 ft 7 in (1,100 mm) are Wikipedia only.
  • hp 3,750 = 2,800 kW converted; Wikipedia gives 3,800 hp (mechanical).
diesel-electric locomotive
Vossloh Espana (2013-15), then Stadler Rail Valencia (2016-17)
2013-20172,800 kW (3,750 hp)100 mph (161 km/h)85 t–wheels 3 ft 7 in1.10 mDirect Rail Services 20Drawn: see its page
1 of 6 dimensions found
Class 69 (rebuilt from Class 56)
status and doubts

EMD 12N-710G3B-T2 two-stroke V12 (139.6 L); original motors overhauled

69001-69016, all GBRf. Several in heritage and special liveries (see livery list). 128 t from GBRf's page.

  • Dimensions single-source (Wikipedia). Pivot centres 47 ft 6 in (14,480 mm) recorded as bogie centres.
  • Wikipedia says the withdrawal of seven in service in Jan 2023 and does not state current availability.
  • Weight from GBRf's page only.
diesel-electric locomotive
Progress Rail, Longport (rebuild of Class 56 bodies and bogies)
2020-2025 rebuild2,390 kW (3,200 hp)80 mph (129 km/h)128 tlong 63 ft 6 in19.355 m
high 13 ft 0 in3.96 m
wide 9 ft 2 in2.792 m
centres 47 ft 6 in14.48 m
wheelbase 13 ft 5 in4.10 m
wheels 3 ft 9 in1.143 m
GB Railfreight 16Drawing to come
6 of 6 dimensions found
Class 70 (GE PowerHaul PH37ACmi)
status and doubts

GE PowerHaul P616 diesel; 6 AC traction motors (Wikipedia: GE 5GEB30 axle-hung)

19 with Heavy Haul Rail (16 active, 3 stored; 70012 a test bed), 17 with Colas (70801-817). 2,250 kW at the wheel rim. Max speed 120 km/h (75 mph; Akiem) = 75 mph (121 km/h).

  • Length and weight confirmed by Akiem (lessor) and Wikipedia; height, width and wheel diameter Wikipedia only.
  • Bogie centres and bogie wheelbase are to be confirmed.
  • in_service_total 36 = 19 + 17; includes stored and test-bed locos.
diesel-electric locomotive
General Electric, Erie, Pennsylvania
2009-2011 (Akiem: 2009-2012)2,750 kW (3,690 hp)75 mph (121 km/h)129 tlong 71 ft 3 in21.71 m
high 12 ft 10 in3.917 m
wide 8 ft 8 in2.642 m
wheels 3 ft 6 in1.067 mHeavy Haul Rail 19
Colas Rail 17
Drawing to come
4 of 6 dimensions found
Class 73 (73/1 and 73/9)
status and doubts

750 V DC third rail (1,600 hp one-hour); 73/1: EE 4SRKT diesel 600 hp; 73/9: Cummins QSK19 or MTU 8V 4000 R43L

GBRf: 9 x 73/1 and 11 x 73/9 (5 'Tier 1' for Network Rail, 6 'Tier 2' for Caledonian Sleeper, passenger). Network Rail sold its two 73/9 in 2023. Weight 76.8 long tons (78.0 t) Wikipedia; 77 t GBRf page.

  • Height, width and bogie dimensions not on the page.
  • 73/9 diesel power (1,500 hp) differs from the 73/1 class figure (600 hp / 447 kW).
  • Length 53 ft 8 in (16.36 m) is not stated as over buffers.
electro-diesel (third rail and diesel) locomotive
English Electric, Vulcan Foundry (73/9: rebuilt by Brush Traction/Wabtec from 2013)
1965-1967; 73/9 rebuilds 2013 onward1,193 kW (1,600 hp)90 mph (145 km/h)77 tlong 53 ft 8 in16.36 mwheels 3 ft 4 in1.016 mGB Railfreight 20
Harry Needle Railroad Company 2
Drawing to come
part of this class is drawn: see its page
2 of 6 dimensions found
Class 88 (Stadler UKDUAL)
status and doubts

25 kV AC pantograph; Caterpillar C27 Stage IIB diesel (708 kW); ABB AC/AC

88001-88010, all with DRS, owned by Beacon. Diesel power 708 kW (Stadler; Wikipedia 700 kW). 21.5 t axle load.

  • No length, height, width, bogie data in either source.
  • Weight and wheel diameter Wikipedia only.
electro-diesel locomotive
Vossloh Espana / Stadler Rail Valencia
2015-20164,000 kW (5,400 hp)100 mph (161 km/h)86 t–wheels 3 ft 6 in1.067 mDirect Rail Services 10Drawing to come
1 of 6 dimensions found
Class 90
status and doubts

25 kV AC; 4 x GEC 412 motors

Freightliner (CMA CGM) 27 plus 90050 on loan to Crewe Heritage Centre; LSL 3 for charters; DB Cargo's fleet is stored or scrapped. in_service_total is the Freightliner freight fleet (27); 50 were built.

  • All dimensions are Wikipedia only (length 61 ft 6 in (18.75 m) not stated as over buffers).
  • Wikipedia fleet counts are internally inconsistent (25 vs 28 in service).
electric locomotive
BREL Crewe Works
1987-19903,730 kW (5,000 hp)110 mph (177 km/h)84.5 tlong 61 ft 6 in18.75 m
high 13 ft 0 in3.969 m
wide 8 ft 10 in2.70 m
centres 32 ft 9 in9.98 m
wheelbase 10 ft 9 in3.28 m
wheels 3 ft 10 in1.156 m
Freightliner 27
Locomotive Services Limited 3
DB Cargo UK 0
Drawing to come
6 of 6 dimensions found
Class 92
status and doubts

6 x Brush asynchronous AC motors; 25 kV overhead or 750 V third rail

GBRf 12 (Caledonian Sleeper and Channel Tunnel freight); DB Cargo 4 active of a stored fleet; 13 exported to Bulgaria and Romania, more to Croatia. GBRf's page says 90 mph (145 km/h) and 126 t. RAIL (Oct 2026): increasingly unreliable.

  • Length 70 ft 1 in (21,360 mm) and weight 126 t confirmed by Wikipedia and DB Cargo; GBRf agrees on weight.
  • Height, width, bogie wheelbase 4,290, pivot centres 12,764, wheel diameter: Wikipedia only (the 'Bogie' field read as bogie wheelbase).
  • Power 5.04 MW on 25 kV, 4.00 MW on 750 V.
  • in_service_total null: about 46 built, only a small number work.
electric (25 kV AC and 750 V DC) locomotive
ABB Transportation and Brush Traction
1993-19965,040 kW (6,760 hp)87 mph (140 km/h)126 tlong 70 ft 1 in21.36 m
high 13 ft 0 in3.96 m
wide 8 ft 8 in2.64 m
centres 41 ft 11 in12.764 m
wheelbase 14 ft 1 in4.29 m
wheels 3 ft 9 in1.14 m
GB Railfreight 12
DB Cargo UK 4
Drawn: see its page
6 of 6 dimensions found
Class 93 (Stadler tri-mode)
status and doubts

25 kV AC (4,000 kW, boost 4,600), CAT C32 Stage V diesel (900 kW), two LTO batteries (400 kW)

Ten delivered to ROG; entered service Oct 2025; trial runs for DB Cargo (10 Feb 2026) and Freightliner; stored at DRS Gresty Bridge; no regular freight contract yet. Width 8 ft 10 in (2,690 mm) is the carbody width.

  • Weight 86 t is Wikipedia only.
  • Height, bogie data and wheel diameter are to be confirmed.
  • Power hp 5,360 = 4,000 kW converted.
electro-diesel-battery locomotive
Stadler Rail Valencia
2022-2024 (10 built)4,000 kW (5,360 hp)110 mph (177 km/h)86 tlong 67 ft 3 in20.50 m
wide 8 ft 10 in2.69 m
–Rail Operations Group 10Drawing to come
2 of 6 dimensions found
Class 97/3 (Network Rail ERTMS rebuilds of Class 37)
status and doubts

97301 (stored), 97302, 97303 'Dave Berry', 97304 'John Tiley'; autumn rail-head treatment and ERTMS tests on the Cambrian lines.

  • No specifications on the 97 page: see Class 37 for the donor values.
  • Livery colours are to be confirmed.
diesel-electric locomotive
English Electric (original Class 37); rebuilt by Network Rail at Barrow Hill
built 1960-65; rebuilt 2008as Class 37 plus ERTMS equipment––––Network Rail 4Drawing to come
0 of 6 dimensions found
Class 99 (Stadler)
status and doubts

25 kV AC (6,170 kW at wheel rim) plus Cummins QSK50 Stage V diesel (1,790 kW); AC/AC; HVO fuel; tractive effort 500 kN

99001 first commercial train 28 July 2026; at least 99001-99013 delivered by Sept 2026 (99013 appears in a RAIL report). 99001-020 no train supply, 99021-030 with ETS (for Belmond). 13 more may be ordered for Caledonian Sleeper (not confirmed).

  • Length, height, width, bogie centres, bogie wheelbase, wheel diameter: NOT in the Stadler data sheet or anywhere read.
  • Weight 113 t from Wikipedia and GBRf's page (two sources).
  • Delivered count (13) is derived from the highest number seen in a RAIL report; Wikipedia said 7 delivered at May 2026.
electro-diesel (bi-mode) locomotive
Stadler Rail Valencia (for Beacon Rail)
2025 onward (30 ordered; first two arrived 10 June 2025)6,170 kW (8,270 hp)75 mph (121 km/h)113 t––GB Railfreight 13Drawing to come
0 of 6 dimensions found

Left out: Classes 47, 57 and 86, because no freight work was found for them in 2026. The Class 93 is stored, with no freight contract yet. Counts come from sources of different dates and are indicative.

Sources

How we source figures →  ·  Spotted a mistake? Tell us → (opens in a new tab)

Show the 48 sources from Wikipedia, RAIL magazine, Wikimedia Commons and 7 more
unverified
  • 2,400 bhp (1,790 kW) at rail.
  • 2,500 hp (1,864 kW) at rail is flagged 'citation needed'.
  • 73/9 diesel power (1,500 hp) differs from the 73/1 class figure (600 hp / 447 kW).
  • All dimensions are Wikipedia only (length 61 ft 6 in (18.75 m) not stated as over buffers).
  • Bogie centres and bogie wheelbase are to be confirmed.
  • Bogie centres field is the Wikipedia 'pivot centres' value 43 ft 6 in (13,259 mm).
  • Bogie centres, bogie wheelbase and wheel diameter are to be confirmed.
  • Bogie data not given (overall wheelbase 50 ft 8 in (15,440 mm)).
  • Bogie data not on the Class 56 page; see Class 69 (bogie wheelbase 4,100, pivot centres 14,480).
  • Bogie wheelbase: 13 ft 7 in (4,150 mm; 2007 Wikipedia mirror) vs 13 ft 9 in (4,190 mm; loco-info 'rigid wheelbase'): conflict, left null. Bogie centres and wheel diameter are to be confirmed (overall wheelbase 56 ft 9 in or 57 ft 1 in (17.29 or 17.41 m)).
  • Class 08/9 height is 11 ft 10 in (3,597 mm; Wikipedia).
  • Counts of 66 per operator are partly from Wikipedia (GBRf, DRS, Colas) and not cross-checked.

Know a source for one of these? Send it to us → (opens in a new tab)

Top